Blog

26 Ways to Celebrate Spring

I am going to try to pay attention to the spring. I am going to look around at all the flowers, and look up at the hectic trees. I am going to close my eyes and listen.—Anne Lamott

Happy first day of spring! Although it’s still fairly chilly in DC, warmer temps and peak cherry blossoms are on the horizon.

As we leave winter’s hibernation, I like to take a moment to review its lessons, highlights, and challenges. Then I can make space for what’s to come in this brand new season by penning a spring wish list into my Daybook and many items are below.

May your transition into this spring be smooth, mindful, and full of ease. Bisous. x

  1. Pack a picnic
  2. Plan a hike
  3. Sit outside at your favorite restaurant
  4. Wear open-toed shoes
  5. Spring clean
  6. See the cherry blossoms
  7. Repot plants
  8. Visit an animal sanctuary
  9. Plant impatiens in your garden
  10. Pick up succulent fruit at the farmers’ market
  11. Go berry picking
  12. Visit a winery and sip into the afternoon
  13. Snap photos of blooming trees and flowers
  14. Savor the sunshine on your skin (hello, vitamin D)
  15. Add pops of color to your desk and home with tulips and daffodils
  16. Go camping
  17. Cultivate a garden (windowsills count)
  18. Line dry your clothes
  19. Hit the beach
  20. Ride a bike
  21. Create a bird feeder
  22. Grow fresh mint for your tea
  23. Pack up your heavy winter gear
  24. Practice yoga outside
  25. Host a mini cocktail party
  26. Fill out the Wheel of Life in your Daybook

Tranquility du Jour #392: The Bee Cottage Story

The Bee Cottage Story with Frances Schultz. We talk about her House Beautiful magazine series on the makeover of her house, Bee Cottage, that turned into a book, what she learned and how she changed during this emotional process.

Tranquility du Jour #392: The Bee Cottage Story

 

Direct download: Tranquility du Jour #392: The Bee Cottage Story


 

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 5.49.15 PM

Upcoming Events

 

Tranquility du Jour Live: March 30

Yoga + Art in West Virginia: May 19-21

Writing in the Woods in West Virginia: October 20-22

Featured guest:

Writer, artist, traveler, and tastemaker, Frances Schultz is a contributing editor for House Beautiful magazine and writes also Veranda,Indagare, The Wall Street Journal and others. Former on-air host of the cable show Southern Living Presents, She is author and co-author of several books on design and entertaining. Her latest, The Bee Cottage Story—How I Made a Muddle of Things and Decorated My Way Back to Happiness is now in its sixth printing.

Frances was the 2015 recipient of the Horticultural Society of New York’s Award of Excellence and was named one of the Southeastern Horticultural Society’s Visionaries of Design. She is on the boards of the Horticultural Society of New York and of Empowers Africa. A North Carolina native and UVa graduate, she lives with her husband Tom Dittmer on a ranch in Los Olivos, California, with frequent forays to New York and East Hampton. You can follow her at FrancesSchultz.com.

photo by Trevor Tondro

Tranquility du Jour

screen-shot-2016-06-16-at-9-04-33-am

Savvy Sources

Mentioned in the Podcast


Social Media


Tranquility Tips + Tools

Request

Techy

  • To listen, click on the player at the top of the post or click here to listen to older episodes.
  • New to podcasting? Get more info at Podcast 411.
  • Do you have iTunes? Click here and subscribe to the podcast to get the latest episode as released.
  • Get the Tranquility du Jour apps to download the podcast “automagically” on iOS or Android.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Week in Review

It is spring again. The earth is like a child that knows poems by heart.—Rumi

Week in Review

After this week’s snowfall, it’s hard to imagine that spring is right around the corner.

I’m looking forward to getting my hands dirty in the musty smell of soil as I add pops of color to my tiny patio. I also love those first spring days when sunshine on my bare skin offers the perfect balm to remedy any remaining heaviness from winter.

Light layers, ample daylight, and time outdoors is what delights me about spring. I adore this quote by Keats, “Give me books, French wine, fruit, fine weather and a little music played out of doors by somebody I do not know.” Doesn’t that summarize spring’s seduction?

In anticipation of spring reflection, I’m hosting the seasonal Tranquility du Jour Live online gathering Thursday, March 30 8-9pm ET. It’s a free event if you join live and I’ll highlight eight tips for living with more tranquility this spring. Would love to have you with us! Bisous. x


This week I collaborated with clients, taught mindfulness, took yoga, savored brunch at our favorite dog-friendly spot in WV, spent a day in the woods, attended a studio programming meeting, met with a friend for dinner, submitted writing pieces to Bella Grace, was interviewed for Tim’s biking podcast, recorded three podcast interviews (some goodies forthcoming!), co-hosted the Tranquil Space Foundation board meeting, savored the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit, attended a book event, enjoyed dinner out with Tim, went on family walks with the pups, read in bed, and soaked in the tub with sweet almond oil.

Pics in Review

  1. Planning
  2. Good reminder spotted in Shepherdstown, WV
  3. Sunday morning
  4. Table set for brunch
  5. Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit at The Phillips Collection with Heather
  6. Nick talking about his new Hemingway book at Politics & Prose
  7. Tea time
  8. Almost time for our next TDJ Live: March 30

Savvy Sources

How to Write What Hurts
Woman Writes the Sweetest Tribute to Her Pig
21 Ways to Feel Better When You’re Stuck in a Rut
How To Make Homemade Soap
50 Ways Happier, Healthier People Live On Their Own Terms
It’s Official: Yoga Helps Depression
How To Write Your Memoir
6 Modern Books for Fans of Pride & Prejudice
Vegan Coconut Almond Macaroons
How To Help Animals

Weekend Wish List

Co-host Tranquil Space Foundation board meeting
Attend friend’s book event at Politics & Prose
See Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit at The Phillips Collection
Organize for upcoming week
Finish Chasing Slow
Write
Prep podcast for Monday release