Blog

Week in Review

It is spring again. The earth is like a child that knows poems by heart.—Rumi

Week in Review

After this week’s snowfall, it’s hard to imagine that spring is right around the corner.

I’m looking forward to getting my hands dirty in the musty smell of soil as I add pops of color to my tiny patio. I also love those first spring days when sunshine on my bare skin offers the perfect balm to remedy any remaining heaviness from winter.

Light layers, ample daylight, and time outdoors is what delights me about spring. I adore this quote by Keats, “Give me books, French wine, fruit, fine weather and a little music played out of doors by somebody I do not know.” Doesn’t that summarize spring’s seduction?

In anticipation of spring reflection, I’m hosting the seasonal Tranquility du Jour Live online gathering Thursday, March 30 8-9pm ET. It’s a free event if you join live and I’ll highlight eight tips for living with more tranquility this spring. Would love to have you with us! Bisous. x


This week I collaborated with clients, taught mindfulness, took yoga, savored brunch at our favorite dog-friendly spot in WV, spent a day in the woods, attended a studio programming meeting, met with a friend for dinner, submitted writing pieces to Bella Grace, was interviewed for Tim’s biking podcast, recorded three podcast interviews (some goodies forthcoming!), co-hosted the Tranquil Space Foundation board meeting, savored the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit, attended a book event, enjoyed dinner out with Tim, went on family walks with the pups, read in bed, and soaked in the tub with sweet almond oil.

Pics in Review

  1. Planning
  2. Good reminder spotted in Shepherdstown, WV
  3. Sunday morning
  4. Table set for brunch
  5. Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit at The Phillips Collection with Heather
  6. Nick talking about his new Hemingway book at Politics & Prose
  7. Tea time
  8. Almost time for our next TDJ Live: March 30

Savvy Sources

How to Write What Hurts
Woman Writes the Sweetest Tribute to Her Pig
21 Ways to Feel Better When You’re Stuck in a Rut
How To Make Homemade Soap
50 Ways Happier, Healthier People Live On Their Own Terms
It’s Official: Yoga Helps Depression
How To Write Your Memoir
6 Modern Books for Fans of Pride & Prejudice
Vegan Coconut Almond Macaroons
How To Help Animals

Weekend Wish List

Co-host Tranquil Space Foundation board meeting
Attend friend’s book event at Politics & Prose
See Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit at The Phillips Collection
Organize for upcoming week
Finish Chasing Slow
Write
Prep podcast for Monday release

Week in Review

Week in Review

Sunday evenings you’ll often find me hovered over my Daybook with a pink pen and cuppa tea. I review items in the week’s to-dos that didn’t get checked off, determine if they’re still relevant, and, if so, add them into the next week. I do the same with my projects. It’s a ritual that takes 15 minutes and deep focus.

Since last week was all about prepping for yesterday’s Virtual Retreat, most of the projects penned last Sunday are still awaiting attention and will be carried over into next week.

It’s okay because my MITs (Most Important Tasks) were completed, I loved hosting yesterday’s daylong online event, and even finished a book (a rarity considering my read-too-many-books-at-a-time habit).

Sundays tend to be my come-to-Jesus moment as I review the week, note the week’s gratitude, and set an intention plus to-dos for the following. I look forward to this night each week as it helps me regroup and assess energy output for the week.

I’ve become much more aware of my need to balance energy input and output. By doing so, I ensure I’m able to give my all when teaching, sitting with clients, or being a friend. My go-to inputs include sleep, hot baths, whole foods (and dark chocolate with pink Himalayan salt), reading, writing, aromatherapy, yoga, meditation, clearing clutter, and art journaling.

As you sit down to prepare for the week ahead, consider the infusion of inputs into your days. My hope is that you’ll find this to be a helpful antidote to counteract the week’s busyness. For me, it’s been a godsend. Bisous. x


This week I prepped and hosted a six-hour virtual retreat focused on slowing down, collaborated with clients, protested bear pits and roadside zoos, practiced yoga, taught mindfulness, finalized the TranquiliT spring look book, launched the new TranquiliT website, finished New Slow City and eagerly updated my Goodreads Reading Challenge,  walked in the woods, watched Pride & Prejudice, interviewed Frances Schultz and Jennifer Schelter for the podcast, released a podcast featuring me and Tim on our detox one month later, sent a Love Note, penned a piece on creative play, and picked up spring tulips and daffodils for home.

Pics in Review

  1. Virtual Retreat set up
  2. Early morning Belle kisses
  3. More Virtual Retreat set up
  4. Belle’s new tutu courtesy of her Gma
  5. Sunday morning
  6. Spring flowers
  7. My new therapy space
  8. PETA protest against bear pits and roadside zoos
  9. Pups obstructing my yoga practice
  10. Red in honor of A Day Without A Woman

Savvy Sources

The Art of Slowing Down in a Museum
Creating Mental and Physical Space to Write
The Art of Easing into Change
Inside Oliver Sack’s Creative Process
How to Be Mindful on the Subway
Why We Can’t Look Away From Our Screens
7 Natural Anxiety Remedies
How to Be Wiser
Jennifer Eagan on Writing
Guy Makes Tiny Hats for Toad
15 Women Who Changed the World Since Last International Women’s Day
Minimalist Carry On Travel Art Supply Kit

Weekend Wish List

Host inspiring six-hour Virtual Retreat
Safe travels to and from the woods
Eat lots of kale chips
Finish New Slow City
Walk in the woods
Family time
Soak in the tub
Watch Pride & Prejudice 

Creative Play

I write entirely to find out what I’m thinking, what I’m looking at, what I see and what it means. What I want and what I fear.—Joan Didion

Playing with magazine images, old postcards, washi tape, stamps, and paint may sound silly when there’s laundry to be done and bills to pay. I get it, it’s hard to set aside time to create.

And yet there is something deeply cathartic and surprisingly productive about doing so.

When leading retreats I’ll often find a few women hesitant about this process and, by the end, they’re often the biggest fans of playing in their art journals and quite proud of what they’ve created.

When was the last time you let yourself play with glue, images, and markers? For many women, it’s been decades, so letting loose can feel intimidating.

An art journal is a place to save ideas and give physical form to thoughts, feelings, and dreams by combining words and images. Here’s a video peek into one of mine many years ago.

I’ve used my art journals to dream up book ideas, process tough emotions, set goals, and simply muse. While I’ve bee an avid journaler since I was a little girl, there’s something powerful about adding images to the words.

Sometimes I’ll glue a few inspiring full-page magazine images into my art journal and write over them with a Sharpie. Other times I’ll pull out multiple smaller images and an assortment of words to create a collage, and then write over it with a gel pen or Sharpie.

The above quote by Joan Didion sheds insight into the power of writing—whether through creative writing, journaling, or art journaling. This process can help us make sense of things going on in our lives and around the world. It serves as an outlet for creative expression and therapeutic processing.

For some, it’s akin to self-care. Author Jennifer Eagan writes: “When I’m not writing I feel an awareness that something’s missing. If I go a long time, it becomes worse. I become depressed. There’s something vital that’s not happening. A certain slow damage starts to occur.”

Staring at a blank page can be the most intimating part, so I like to get it covered with paint, images, or other bits of ephemera such as vintage graph paper, reused tissue paper, or printed paper. Then I write.

At times I pen what I’m feeling in the moment and since our emotions are like weather patterns—constantly in flux—there’s bound to be something new. I also like making lists such as takeaways from a book, conference, retreat, or day.

On Saturday I’m hosting the only Virtual Retreat of this year and we have over an hour dedicated to the art journaling process. If you’re new to the process, I’ll walk you through it. If you’ve been at this for years, I’ll introduce new prompts and ideas. If you’re unable to join, check out the many resources on the Tranquility du Jour blogand podcast.

Wishing you space to play, creative, and breathe deeply. Bisous. x