Blog » week in review

Category: week in review

Week in Review

It is spring again. The earth is like a child that knows poems by heart.—Rumi

Week in Review

After this week’s snowfall, it’s hard to imagine that spring is right around the corner.

I’m looking forward to getting my hands dirty in the musty smell of soil as I add pops of color to my tiny patio. I also love those first spring days when sunshine on my bare skin offers the perfect balm to remedy any remaining heaviness from winter.

Light layers, ample daylight, and time outdoors is what delights me about spring. I adore this quote by Keats, “Give me books, French wine, fruit, fine weather and a little music played out of doors by somebody I do not know.” Doesn’t that summarize spring’s seduction?

In anticipation of spring reflection, I’m hosting the seasonal Tranquility du Jour Live online gathering Thursday, March 30 8-9pm ET. It’s a free event if you join live and I’ll highlight eight tips for living with more tranquility this spring. Would love to have you with us! Bisous. x


This week I collaborated with clients, taught mindfulness, took yoga, savored brunch at our favorite dog-friendly spot in WV, spent a day in the woods, attended a studio programming meeting, met with a friend for dinner, submitted writing pieces to Bella Grace, was interviewed for Tim’s biking podcast, recorded three podcast interviews (some goodies forthcoming!), co-hosted the Tranquil Space Foundation board meeting, savored the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit, attended a book event, enjoyed dinner out with Tim, went on family walks with the pups, read in bed, and soaked in the tub with sweet almond oil.

Pics in Review

  1. Planning
  2. Good reminder spotted in Shepherdstown, WV
  3. Sunday morning
  4. Table set for brunch
  5. Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit at The Phillips Collection with Heather
  6. Nick talking about his new Hemingway book at Politics & Prose
  7. Tea time
  8. Almost time for our next TDJ Live: March 30

Savvy Sources

How to Write What Hurts
Woman Writes the Sweetest Tribute to Her Pig
21 Ways to Feel Better When You’re Stuck in a Rut
How To Make Homemade Soap
50 Ways Happier, Healthier People Live On Their Own Terms
It’s Official: Yoga Helps Depression
How To Write Your Memoir
6 Modern Books for Fans of Pride & Prejudice
Vegan Coconut Almond Macaroons
How To Help Animals

Weekend Wish List

Co-host Tranquil Space Foundation board meeting
Attend friend’s book event at Politics & Prose
See Toulouse-Lautrec exhibit at The Phillips Collection
Organize for upcoming week
Finish Chasing Slow
Write
Prep podcast for Monday release

Week in Review

Week in Review

Sunday evenings you’ll often find me hovered over my Daybook with a pink pen and cuppa tea. I review items in the week’s to-dos that didn’t get checked off, determine if they’re still relevant, and, if so, add them into the next week. I do the same with my projects. It’s a ritual that takes 15 minutes and deep focus.

Since last week was all about prepping for yesterday’s Virtual Retreat, most of the projects penned last Sunday are still awaiting attention and will be carried over into next week.

It’s okay because my MITs (Most Important Tasks) were completed, I loved hosting yesterday’s daylong online event, and even finished a book (a rarity considering my read-too-many-books-at-a-time habit).

Sundays tend to be my come-to-Jesus moment as I review the week, note the week’s gratitude, and set an intention plus to-dos for the following. I look forward to this night each week as it helps me regroup and assess energy output for the week.

I’ve become much more aware of my need to balance energy input and output. By doing so, I ensure I’m able to give my all when teaching, sitting with clients, or being a friend. My go-to inputs include sleep, hot baths, whole foods (and dark chocolate with pink Himalayan salt), reading, writing, aromatherapy, yoga, meditation, clearing clutter, and art journaling.

As you sit down to prepare for the week ahead, consider the infusion of inputs into your days. My hope is that you’ll find this to be a helpful antidote to counteract the week’s busyness. For me, it’s been a godsend. Bisous. x


This week I prepped and hosted a six-hour virtual retreat focused on slowing down, collaborated with clients, protested bear pits and roadside zoos, practiced yoga, taught mindfulness, finalized the TranquiliT spring look book, launched the new TranquiliT website, finished New Slow City and eagerly updated my Goodreads Reading Challenge,  walked in the woods, watched Pride & Prejudice, interviewed Frances Schultz and Jennifer Schelter for the podcast, released a podcast featuring me and Tim on our detox one month later, sent a Love Note, penned a piece on creative play, and picked up spring tulips and daffodils for home.

Pics in Review

  1. Virtual Retreat set up
  2. Early morning Belle kisses
  3. More Virtual Retreat set up
  4. Belle’s new tutu courtesy of her Gma
  5. Sunday morning
  6. Spring flowers
  7. My new therapy space
  8. PETA protest against bear pits and roadside zoos
  9. Pups obstructing my yoga practice
  10. Red in honor of A Day Without A Woman

Savvy Sources

The Art of Slowing Down in a Museum
Creating Mental and Physical Space to Write
The Art of Easing into Change
Inside Oliver Sack’s Creative Process
How to Be Mindful on the Subway
Why We Can’t Look Away From Our Screens
7 Natural Anxiety Remedies
How to Be Wiser
Jennifer Eagan on Writing
Guy Makes Tiny Hats for Toad
15 Women Who Changed the World Since Last International Women’s Day
Minimalist Carry On Travel Art Supply Kit

Weekend Wish List

Host inspiring six-hour Virtual Retreat
Safe travels to and from the woods
Eat lots of kale chips
Finish New Slow City
Walk in the woods
Family time
Soak in the tub
Watch Pride & Prejudice 

Week in Review

Week in Review

The week after hosting a retreat typically consists of refilling my well through sleeping, time at home, and processing. This one was no exception. Most days I enjoyed a soak in the tub, read from the 20ish books I’m currently in a relationship with, and found myself ready for bed by 9pm.

This week I collaborated with clients, worked on the spring TranquiliT launch (coming next week), picked up a few supplies for my new practice, enjoyed lunch with a friend, taught a four-hour teacher training workshop, attended a Walmart protest, practiced yoga, noshed on many ginger scones from Teaism, met with my writing teacher, taught mindfulness, attended a studio directors’ meeting, recorded a podcast interview, reviewed my February dreams, and penned my March dreams.

Pics in Review

  1. Belle in her new hoodie
  2. Doga with Mookie
  3. Monday’s protest with The Humane League against Walmart’s double standards
  4. Sunday morning
  5. Imitating Mookie
  6. Art journal play

Savvy Sources

5 Tips For A Healthy Morning Routine
Honor Your Rhythm
Take Your Mind For a Walk
George Saunders: What Writers Really Do When They Write
Strengthen Your Empathy Muscle
How To Realistically Participate in The “Day Without A Woman”
Three Ways to Hack Your Environment To Help You Create
What Do Men Get That Women Don’t?
9 Ted Talks on Self-Care
How To Stop Overcomplicating Things
8 Tips To Transition Your Wardrobe From Winter to Spring

Weekend Wish List

Virtual Retreat prep
Family time
Yoga
Read
Write
Soak in the tub
Update LinkedIn profile